Burnt Sugar
Паперова книга | Код товару 1196728
Автор
Авні Доши
Видавництво
Penguin
Мова
Англійська
Рік видання
2020
Кількість сторінок
240
Ілюстрації
Немає ілюстрацій
Формат
135x216 мм
Палітурка
М'яка

Усе про книжку Burnt Sugar

Longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy and Diana Evans

In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her loveless marriage to join an ashram, endured a brief stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents), and spent years chasing after a dishevelled, homeless 'artist' - all with her young child in tow. Now she is forgetting things, mixing up her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her.

This is a love story and a story about betrayal. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery cords of memory and myth that bind two women together, and hold them apart.

— 'Arresting and fiercely intelligent, disarmingly witty and frank' Sunday Times

— 'A corrosive, compulsive debut' Daily Telegraph (five stars)

— 'Scouringly brilliant, a blazing debut with words that glitter sharp as shards of broken mirror' Buro.

— 'Utterly compelling, complex, unflinching realism, written with poignancy and memorability' The Booker Prize Judges 2020

— 'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian

Читати повний опис
Згорнути
Характеристики
Автор
Авні Доши
Видавництво
Penguin
Мова
Англійська
Рік видання
2020
Кількість сторінок
240
Ілюстрації
Немає ілюстрацій
Формат
135x216 мм
Палітурка
М'яка
Рецензії
Купити - Burnt Sugar
Burnt Sugar
692 грн
Відправлення з
28.05.2021
 

Рецензії Burnt Sugar

 
Характеристики Burnt Sugar
Автор
Авні Доши
Видавництво
Penguin
Мова
Англійська
Рік видання
2020
Кількість сторінок
240
Ілюстрації
Немає ілюстрацій
Формат
135x216 мм
Палітурка
М'яка
ISBN
9780241441510
Вага
240 гр.
Тип
Паперова